Thick Skin, Way To Deal With Trolls – Gul Panag

Home / News and Media / Thick Skin, Way To Deal With Trolls – Gul Panag

Gul Panag graced the panel discussion on “Social Media Trolling on Social Platforms” for forthcoming OSM Awards. During her media interaction, Gul expressed that “Thick Skin” is the only way to deal with online trolls.

Eminent film and digital personalities such as Gul Panag, Jose Cavaco, Malini Agarwal, Twinkle Khanna, and Tanmay Bhat hosted the “OSM” Outlook Social Media Awards Jury Panel discussion here in Mumbai.

Gul Panag, who has been the front-runner of all thing “empowering”, has been targeted many times on social media. Her political allegiance and strong viewpoint have attracted many threats.

Talking about Online Trolls and dealing with them, Gul said, “The moment you take a position or anything, you set yourself up for an attack; either from people, who disagree with you or people who just don’t like the fact that you have taken a position because traditionally women, especially those who belong to film industry, are not entitled to have an opinion. A woman having an opinion was discouraged outside and within the industry but it is changing now”

Further adding, Gul said, “So once you take a position, some will disagree with you on logic and fact-based argument, but some people are out there just to get after you. And there is a category of these trolls, ones who can’t spell your name right, second throw abuse and physical harm at you, I think the trick to the whole thing is to have a thick skin”

People from Films, Media, Digital Platform, Culinary, Fashion, Politics, Sports and many other streams are nominated under various categories. Such as Super Nova of The year, Sports Star of the Year, Comedy Guru of the Year, Musician of the Year, Viral Personality of the Year, Politician of the Year, Inspiration of the Year, Influencer of the Year, Foodie/Chef of the Year, Youth Icon of the Year, Inspiration of the Year (Celebrity) and more.

Celebrities like Akshay Kumar, Deepika Padukone, Varun Dhawan, Kamal Haasan, Rajinikanth, Shah Rukh Khan, Alia Bhatt, Diljit Dosanjh, Karan Johar, Rajkummar Rao, Ranveer Singh, Kalki Koechlin, Rannvijay Singh, Priya Varrier, Athiya Shetty and more are nominated in 2018.

The award commence on 20th April.

Use of this website ( including any and all parts, features, materials and downloads ) constitutes your acceptance of these Privacy and Legals. The materials on this website are not to be sold, traded, or given away. Any copying, manipulation, publishing, or other transfer of these materials, except as specifically provided in the Terms and Conditions of Use ( Privacy and Legals ), is strictly prohibited.